Divergent Spectrum

Label: Amorphous Music
Release Date: Aug-02-2011

From Amorphous Music comes a new Bassnectar concept album: Divergent Spectrum, a powerful release that displays the artist's disregard for convention and ability to design sound as if brushing samples and beats onto a reckless canvas, bursting from dark to light, heavy to soft, and tender to fierce.

Showcasing the sound that has provided a path for many music lovers into the international electronic music community, the 15-track Divergent Spectrum breaks open to reveal elements of drum-and-bass, dubstep, punk, hip-hop, death metal, abstract ambient, trip hop and a wide-minded aesthetic, all cranked up and outfitted with an influx of booming bass.

Inspired by the colorful yet confusing dualities inherent in human existence, Divergent Spectrum launches with "Upside Down," greeting the listener with a classic Bassnectar anthem. Ellie Goulding, Rollz, and Gogol Bordello all get the remix treatment to magnificent effect, while "Red Step" provides a blip-heavy groove alongside window-shaking low end; another innovative product of Bassnectar's continual collaborations with fellow producer Jantsen. "The Matrix" and "Paging Stereophonic" are dance floor scorchers, the soaring remix of "Parade Into Centuries" takes the album on a melodic spiral downward, and "After Thought and "Disintegration Part IV" gently finish the experience in a reflective pool of sound.

A chromatic exhibition of Bassnectar's continuing contributions to the evolution of electronic music and dance culture, Divergent Spectrum delivers both nostalgic moments and aural innovation to a worldwide fan base that desires the beautiful and the bestial in the same breath.

1. Upside Down
2. Plugged In (Bassnectar Remix)
3. Immigraniada (Bassnectar Remix)
4. Boomerang
5. Lights (Bassnectar Remix)
6. Probable Cause (feat. Ill Gates)
7. Red Step (feat. Jantsen)
8. The Matrix
9. Voodoo
10. Heads Up [2011 Version]
11. Paging Stereophonic
12. Above & Beyond (feat. Seth Drake)
13. Parade into Centuries [2011 Version]
14. After Thought
15. Disintegration Part IV

Bookmark and Share
Purchase from: