Label: Westbound Records Inc.
Release Date: Dec-27-2005

Funkadelic's debut album originally released in 1970. The album showcased a strong bass and rhythm section, as well as lengthy jam sessions, future trademarks of the band. The album contains two remakes of songs from The Parliaments, an earlier band featuring George Clinton: "I Bet You" and "Good Old Music". "Mommy, What's a Funkadelic?" and "What is Soul" contained the beginnings of Funkadelic's mythology, namely that "Funkadelic" and "the Funk" are alien in origin but not dangerous. "I Got a Thing, You Got a Thing, Everybody's Got a Thing" was particularly notable for the epic guitar solo by Rare Earth's Ray Monette's. "I Bet You" was later covered by the Jackson 5 on their album ABC, and sampled by the Beastie Boys for their song "Car Thief". In more recent years The Red Hot Chili Peppers have combined the main riff of "Mommy, What's a Funkadelic?" and certain parts of the lyrics from "What Is Soul?" in live shows, a version appears as a B-Side on their 2002 single By The Way.

1. Mommy, What's a Funkadelic?
2. I'll Bet You
3. Music For My Mother
4. I Got a Thing, You Got a Thing, Everybody's Got a Thing
5. Good Old Music
6. Qualify and Satisfy
7. What is Soul
8. Can't Shake It Loose (1969 Version)
9. I'll Bet You (1969 Version)
10. Music For My Mother (1969 Version)
11. As Good As I Can Feel (1969 Version)
12. Open Our Eyes (1969 Version)
13. Quality and Satisfy (45 Version)
14. Music For My Mother (Instrumental 45 Version)

Bookmark and Share
Purchase from: