Close the Lights

Label: Smog Records
Release Date: Oct-11-2011

Close the Lights is the first album from Pawn, a notorious figure in the Smog label, known for his eclectic production styles and powerful DJ sets. "Close the Lights" ventures through layers of glitch-hop and jungle, energized by elements of crunk and painted with the guttural auras of dubstep. Paying tribute to his home state, "Golden Gates" kicks off the journey with a vibrant backbeat and vocal cuts crooning "California, here I come." Songs such as "Sleepless Nights" and "Chasm" delve into deep glitchy introspection while up-tempo "Slot Machine Eyes" and "Release Her" ooze ambient, head-banging grime. "So Blue" elegantly builds echoed vocals as the synth and bass drive it home. "Close the Lights" is a vibrant journey through a dynamic California-style and charismatic range of music that has become Pawn's unique sound.

1. Golden Gates
2. Sleepless Nights
3. Release Her
4. Click Track Heart
5. Chasm
6. Unify
7. So Blue
8. Reach Out
9. Slot Machine Eyes
10. Through The Fog

Bookmark and Share
Purchase from: