Gnarly Davidson vs. The Marlboro Men

Label: Applebird
Release Date: May-06-2014

Los Angeles rapper Speak presents his first proper full-length Gnarly Davidson vs. The Marlboro Men. With an Album title pulled from a “shitty Mickey Rourke movie”, and Largely engineered with Odd Future’s Syd The Kyd, this realized collection communicates the Speak autobiography narrating the interplay between struggle and success. Romanticizing the middle-ground where debaucherous depression meets extreme euphoria, Speak exercises poetry across the generational gap by honing-in on the hip hop of the present day. Observing recent collaborations with Vince Staples, The Internet, and Mac Miller - its not your everyday artist who is capable of lighting the torch for underground clubs, tipping the hat towards Top 40 radio, and flying the freak flag for all “Art Goons” in a simultaneous setting. The album’s jump-off track ‘Mouth’ is a whimsical relay of wordplay, beat-boxing, and crystallized hand claps as the chorus whispers “I run with them weirdos” with an underlying grin. ‘Let Downs’ is an up-beat downer dose from the common Hollywood slacker. Jazzy samples and rustling percussion programming provide the uplifting backdrop for Speak’s tales of the dystopian hustle, all the while smiling in amusement. Pleading for divine intervention on the chorus of ‘Mazda Blue’ chanting “Hail Mary full of grace / Protect me from devils while I’m on the paper chase” grapple-hooks the listener with insightful metaphors towards music-industry navigation. An celebration of breakthroughs is declared outright from the Hair God himself: “The Marlboro men represent anything cancerous to one’s growth and life. Bad relationships, doubt, the business-side of the music industry, drug abuse, depression. It was me fighting all these things trying to stay alive.” Gnarly Davidson vs. The Marlboro Men drops worldwide May 13th, 2014 on Speak’s Applebird imprint.

1. Mouth
2. Capsule
3. Bulletproof Denali
4. ITT
5. Let Downs (feat. Nikko Gray)
6. Web (feat. Ms. Jack Davey & Tay Walker)
7. Death By Misadventure (feat. Pheo)
8. Pendergrass
9. Sevilla (feat. Syd the Kyd)
10. Lost World
11. Position
12. Mazda Blue
13. Stab
14. Good Bye (feat. Nikko Gray, Tiron & Ayomari)

Bookmark and Share
Purchase from: