Gandalf's Beat Machine Level 3

Label: Legendary Music
Release Date: Nov-17-2009

The Living Legends crew might be known for providing quality straight-ahead Hip Hop. Yet when Eligh put on the producer hat for this beat tape, assuming the persona of Gandalf, he ventured outside of the Hip Hop realm to acquire his influences. After a hiatus from releasing instrumental records, one would think he's late. But of course, a wizard is never late, nor is he early. He arrives precisely when he means to.

Spread across 24 tracks, his inceptions range from the more conservative boom bap to the further left-field conceptions. One track of note is Hacker, where Eligh takes a basic Roland 808 beat and fuses it with guitar chords and bells to create a experimental creation so L.A. that it's frightening.

Another important conception is the track Starscream. Other than having an awesome title, the track provides a typical boom bap surface combined with a chopped up vocal sample. This beat begs to be used as cipher material.

Gandalf conjured up 24 lethal potions for this release. With beats as heavy as this, Eligh proves he is out to rule them all.

1. Dawn
2. To Be Alive
3. Green Miles
4. Strange L.A. Girl
5. Hacker
6. The Legend
7. My Love Won't Stop
8. Desert Mines
9. Don't Leave Me
10. Kimmy's Doll House
11. Starscream
12. Pictures In Paint
13. Desicated
14. Breath
15. Missing the Feeling
16. Throwback
17. All Breezy
18. The Yard
19. Clockwork
20. Ralley Up
21. Sunset Prowler
22. A Gypsy Theme
23. Looking Glass Tale
24. Dream of Me

Bookmark and Share
Purchase from: