The Fantastic Four
Alvin Stone / Night People

Label: Westbound Records Inc.
Release Date: Sep-22-2009

This two-fer consists of the Fantastic Four's praised album and its spirited follow-up, Night People. Alvin Stone (The Birth and Death of a Gangster) is the Fantastic Four's What's Going On, their Songs in the Key of Life, their Abbey Road; its six songs include the bombastic title track and the melodramatic love songs "My Love Won't Stop at Nothing" and "Let This Moment Last," which are reasons enough to buy this CD. Night People tries to replicate Alvin Stone's artistry with melodies from "Night People" and "Lies Divided By Jive." The most memorable songs are easily "If I Lost My Job" and "(Meet Me at The) Hideaway," a plodding disco tune highlighted by a throaty vocal from Sweet James Epps. Albert Hamilton either wrote or co-wrote every song on the CD, with some exceptions (i.e., "By the River Under the Tree," written by Epps and Ted White).

1. Alvin Stone (The Birth and Death of a Gangster)
2. Have a Little Mercy
3. County Line
4. Let This Moment Last Forever
5. Words
6. My Love WonÕt Stop at Nothing
7. Medley: (a) Night People; (b) Lies Divided by Jive
8. If I Lose My Job
9. Hideaway
10. By the River Under the Tree
11. DonÕt Risk Your Happiness on Foolishness
12. They Took the Show on the Road

Bookmark and Share
Purchase from: